“Armstrong Bell has a refined
understanding of space and place”

About 2017-11-15T14:46:39+00:00

The Practice

Armstrong Bell landscape design is an award winning landscape architecture practice founded in 1984 by Diana Armstrong Bell. Working internationally across a range of climate zones, the practice is known for distinctive, innovative designs that are site specific and sensitive to context. Original, contemporary designs for urban parks and spaces have won six international design competitions and short-listing in a further three. The practice works collaboratively with associated design professionals focussing on urban landscapes, parks, gardens, master planning and the landscape of new building complexes.

Diana Armstrong Bell

Diana Armstrong BellDiana’s approach to landscape design is creative and original. She uses hand drawing, collage, and modelling, to develop design ideas. Defining the particular essence of a landscape is the starting point for each new project. Every place has its own story where landscape and people are intertwined. Designs are born out of the history and memories, adding a new chapter to that story. The sculptural qualities of the natural landscape and the inspiration of artists including Malevich and El Lissitzky, enrich the design process informing contemporary design solutions.

Diana has designed and built projects in the UK, France, Italy, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Iraq, Syria and Jordan. She has a considerable plant knowledge spanning temperate, Mediterranean and arid climate zones along with an understanding of the associated cultural context.

She lectures widely in the UK and Europe and taught Landscape Architecture at the University of Greenwich and The Inchbald School of Design.

Diana completed an art foundation course followed by a diploma in Landscape Architecture at Gloucestershire College of Art & Design. She is a chartered member of the Landscape Institute.


2004 University of Lincoln Landscape Masterplan – winning design
2003 Canary Wharf Sculptures – winning design
1999 Duke of York’s Square, Chelsea, London – short listed in final four
1997 Parco Certosa, Milan, Italy – winning design
1996 1996 Crystal Palace Park, London – short listed in final six
1995 King Georges Park, London Borough of Wandsworth – winning design
1995 Parc Urbain de Planoise, Ville de Besancon, France – short listed in final six
1992 Parc du Lac de Senart , France – winning design
1989 Sakhir Golf Course & Leisure Centre, Bahrain – winning design